Prague and the rise of the ‘Selfie Stick’

I first went to Prague about 9 years ago. I was 12 at the time, so can’t remember much; it’s been one of those places which i’m not sure I can put on my ‘list of countries i’ve been to’, despite having physically been there.

So when the chance arose to stop over there en route to Poland, I jumped at the chance. We arrived there at about 2pm in the afternoon, having left Nuemberg at about 10am.

It first struck me as very pretty, with lots of picturesque buildings and quaint cobbled streets. But the city was just so busy. Everywhere I looked there were fleets of tourists, and a lot of the city’s shops were completely directed at the stag do market, which looked obscenely out of place next to all the idyllic old buildings. Being a tourist myself, it was pretty unjustified to be annoyed at other tourists for being there, but regardless, there was something about Prague that didn’t tick all the boxes.

Maybe it was because I got accidentally thwarted three times by long sticks with people’s phones on the end. That’s right- these are now a thing. ‘Selfie sticks’ are handy in those circumstances when you wish you have a really long arm so you can successfully get yourself and the background in a photo. I guess they’re not a bad idea if you’re travelling on your own, but when you have to constantly duck and sidestep in Prague’s main square just to dodge the metal poles you get a strong desire to snap every one in half and throw them into the Vltava.

From the other side of the river, you can walk up to the castle and look at the rooftops. From a birds eye view, the city looks incredibly charming and fairytale-esque, but there just didn’t seem to be a massive amount of things to do in Prague other than look at quaint buildings. There is a Jewish Quarter with a museum which i’m sure I would have found interesting, but unfortunately we were there on a Saturday so they were all shut.

Prague is undoubtedly a pleasant city, but it just felt incredibly overrun with tourists. In all fairness, we were there on August bank holiday; probably the busiest weekend of the year. I would go back to Prague if the opportunity arose but I think before I’d like to visit less overrated cities, such as Bratislava in neighboring Slovakia.

Next stop- Krakow!

20141222-132137.jpg
The rooftops of Prague as seen from the castle

One thought on “Prague and the rise of the ‘Selfie Stick’

  1. We were in Prague for the first time this past summer and we enjoyed it but also felt it to seem very well tourist trodden. I think I would like to go back in a shoulder season when the weather is still nice but there are far fewer people to battle with in the centre of the city!

Leave a comment